Diagnosis and the initiation of treatment

daily
results
milestones
Yesterday was intense. Sam has an extremely rare cancer. Treatment of the disease has now started.
Author

Colin C.

Published

April 29, 2023

My morning has started with an encouraging time with my boy. I managed to get some sleep over at the Ronald McDonald House and came back to Sam’s room for 5:00 (these days that is sleeping in for me). Shortly after I got here Sam woke up. Despite the intensity of the previous day, despite the pains in his body, he was full of faith and joy. He celebrated that his PICC worked for the latest blood-work (currently running at every four hours). We chatted for a bit, I rubbed his back, wrapped him in a warm blanket, and then tucked him back in. Currently he is sleeping soundly.

Reflections on April 28

This date will be significant to use for the rest of our lives – that day we received a diagnosis and the initiation of treatment.

Diagnosis and Treatment

In the morning the lead care team (Oncologist, Clinical Care Nurse, and Social Worker) met with us – the three of us to start, and then Tina and I for the details. Finally we have a diagnosis, Sam’s cancer has been identified. We have been looking forward to this as a diagnosis leads to a plan … if you know what it is, you can know how to treat it. We all wish it was that simple.

Sam has an extremely rare form of cancer. It is a blood-based cancer mostly located in the lymphatic system. The name of the disease is almost as long as the first two sentences in this paragraph. We know what to call it, we know where it is, the team will treat it. However, the treatment plan will be week-to-week, and as treatment phases are completed, additional steps will be taken to evaluate the response/impact on the disease.

Phase 1 of treatment has started, a round of chemotherapy, and we know the plan for this week.

I have to add that Sam is a champ! Today’s needle count tallied to 4 including the addition a new IV line.

Surrounded by love

  • My Mom and Dad were here and were have to have a good time talking with Sam while Tina and I met with the medical team. I am glad they were here. It was good to share tears with them.

  • Rhoda and Dave, had a great conversation with Sam, and gifted him with comics and games

  • Tina had a great call with sister.

  • Many thanks to all of you for your notes of support, well-wishes, and prayers! Your words, stories, encouragement, and solidarity with us are amazing.

Needs, concerns and victories

  • We are all walking in the dark. Our family and the Drs. Pray for wisdom to simply see the next step.

  • We need to see the cancer respond to the treatment. It is unknown, how this cancer will respond, or how it may adapt/ resist.

  • Chemotherapy, is intense, and some of the chemicals are literally poison. We have entered a world of trade-offs. The disease must die, but the treatment has dangers and significant potential side-effects.

We will count the small victories and joys

  • Sam took on numerous pokes/needles like a champ.

  • Sam’s PICC worked … most of the time.

  • Out of bed. Sam’ has been sick and mostly bed-ridden. He enjoyed some time out of bed sitting up in a chair.

  • It was a puppy therapy day today. If you know Sam you know he loves dogs.

Meditation

There are two passages of scripture that are constantly in my mind. Two passages that reflect in-part where I am at.

He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; Psalm 23

if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.” “ ‘If you can’?”said Jesus. “Everything is possible for one who believes.” Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” Mark 9:14f